Governing Body

At Lea Manor High School we are proud to be led by a proactive team of Governors who are representative of the community in Luton and beyond.

Our Governors provide the leadership of the school with the challenge to ensure we best serve the local community, our pupils and their parents.

We do not have committees, Governors meet every half term to deal with issues and statutory requirements.

The Governors’ Role

Our team of Governors comprises a group of local people with a range of experience and expertise who are representatives of the local community. Many have a thorough working knowledge of the school.

The main roles of the Governing Body are threefold:

Perspective: The governing body focus on helping the school’s strategy for improvement so that students learn effectively and achieve the highest standards.

Advice: They provide the Headteacher and staff with support, advice and information, drawing upon members’ knowledge and experience. The governing body exists to promote the interests of the school and the wellbeing of the students.

Accountability: The governing body is responsible for ensuring good quality education in the school. The Headteacher and staff report to the governing body on the school’s performance and the governing body has the right to discuss, question and refine proposals, whilst always respecting the professional roles of the Headteacher and staff and their responsibilities for the management of the school. In its turn the governing body answers for its actions, above all to the parents and the wider community for the school’s overall performance.

Governing Body 2019/20 is as follows:

Gwyneth Gibson - Headteacher

Yvette Roberts – Chair of Governors/Co-opted Governor 

Julie Allen - Vice Chair of Governors/Co-opted Governor

Tim Pearce - Vice Chair of Governors/Parent Governor

Georgina Leelodharry – Parent Governor/Governor Trainer

Father Richard Brown - Co-opted Governor/Safeguarding, LAC & GDPR

Cllr Roy Davis - Local Authority Governor/Health & Safety

Samina Latif - Parent Governor

Luke Petch - Co-opted Governor/Quality of Education, SEND & Careers

Hannah Cox-Fuggles - Staff Governor

Claire Jones - Parent Governor

Cllr Jacqui Burnett - Associate Member

Paula Ewington - Clerk


Page Downloads Date  
LMHS Privacy Notice Governors 13th Sep 2019 Download
Declarations LeaManorHighPerforming 04th Dec 2019 Download
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now